Knowledge Base

Recording a Meet – Google Classroom

It is possible to record a Meet so that it can be shared with the class. The recording itself will be saved into the Google Drive of the meeting owner, which should be the teacher. You school may not currently have the record function enabled so if not, please raise a case on the help desk and we can do this for you. 

Please be aware that currently we believe any recordings of a meet have 30-day retention period, after which they will be deleted. Google seem to have a shifting stance on this at present and we are waiting for more concrete answer from them. Upgrading to an Enterprise for Education license does remove the retention period. Please contact us via the help desk for more information. 

Link to a Google Guide on recording a video meeting!

How to record a Meet  

Step 1: Once the Meet is underway the teacher can click on the More button, which is the 3 dots in the bottom right corner. 

Step 2: Click on Record meeting. You will be asked to make sure everyone is ready and that everyone has given consent to record. 

Step 3: If you are happy to continue, you can then click Start. It may take a few moments for the recording to actually start but you will see REC appear in the top left corner.  

Step 4: How to stop recording a Meet 

Just as before, the teacher can click the More or 3 dots button and then click Stop recording. 

 

Please see our follow-up guide on how to access the recorded files and how to share them with a classroom by clicking here

Was this article helpful?
0.5 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 0%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 100%
How can we improve this article?
Previous Prevent pupils joining lessons early – Google Classroom
Next Resetting a classroom meet link – Google Classroom